Google My Business FAQs

Find out more about why Google My Business is critical for your local business

Do you want to know

Frequently Asked Questions

Opposite are some of the more common questions we get asked about Google My Business. If your question is not answered please feel free to contact us.

Google My Business is the platform that powers Google’s business listings.

By adding your business details will mean your business will get listed in the Google’s local pack, on Google Maps as well as in other different search results.

It is a platform that every local business owner should be aware of and using given that the information which you submit to your listing can appear in a number of different ways on the search engine giant.

Google enables local businesses to create a Business Profile for free. This listing then enables you to manage how your business appears on Google Search and Maps.

Google My Business is a combination of your:

  • Business Profile
  • How your business appears in Google Search
  • How your business appears on Google Maps

Most businesses verify ownership via phone, SMS or requesting and receiving a postcard to your address from Google.

Just recently Google have launched verification via uploading a video of your business signage.

Google My Business is often the first interactions potential customers have with your business.

You will need to enter your business address to get verified but you can then hide your address.

If you do not have an address where customers can visit, e.g. a home based virtual business you can register the area you service.

Google My Business  is completely free.

Every small business can take advantage of the benefits having a fully optimised Google My Business listing.

Yes. When you register your business on Google My Business, you can decide whether you use a physical address or not. This means if you are a service-area only business run from your home you can still use the service.

Yes, if you as the business owner uploaded the photo to your business listing.

To delete a photo, simply choose photos on the navigation menu on the left side and click the picture you want to remove:

  1. Open it in full-screen view

  2. Click the trash can icon on the top right corner

If a customer shared the photo, you must submit a request for it to be reviewed and removed:

  1. Open the image and click on the red flag icon to ‘Report a Problem’

  2. Indicate the reason for flagging the photo

  1. Sign in to Google My Business and open your business profile by clicking on the account circle

  2. Select promote and choose the type of post you want to create

  3. Add elements like videos, text, and offers to the post

  4. Hit preview to see what it will look like, then choose publish

Setting up a Q&A function for your Google My Business listing allows anyone to ask a question about your business.

However, an even better use of this function is to post questions and answer them as the business owner. We would recommend adding at least 10 new questions a month.

Once you register for Google My Business, you will be automatically prompted to set up a Google built website. It will create the website  based on the business information.

Even if you have a website we recommend having a Google built one as well. We always recommend using as many of Google’s tools and even if you only get 1 enquiry a year from it, it has cost you nothing and takes a couple of minutes for them to build it for you.

No it is not possible to.